BASS | Braddon | Denison | Franklin | Lyons

Origin of name

The Division of Bass takes its name from Dr George Bass (1771-1803), an early settler and explorer.


Bass encompasses the North-East corner of Tasmania. The main centres are the City of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Branxholm, Bridport, Derby, Gladstone, Hadspen, Lilydale, Legana, Ringarooma and Scottsdale.  Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island and Flinders Island are also in the division.

Map of the division of Bass 7,497 sq km

Number of electors on the Tasmanian Electoral Roll

71,305 (as at 19 February 2010)

Sitting members

The Division of Bass is both a House of Assembly and a federal House of Representatives electorate.

Check who currently represents you in all three levels of government, using our handy 'My Reps' tool.

At the 2010 House of Assembly Election

Electors enrolled: 71,305
Electors voted: 66,860 (93.77%)
Informal votes: 3,162 (4.43%)

Back to House of Assembly main page

This page was last modified at 4:29:29 PM Monday, 20 September 2010
You are directed to a disclaimer and copyright notice governing the information provided.