Bass | Braddon | DENISON | Franklin | Lyons

Origin of name

The Division of Denison takes its name from Sir William Denison (1804-71), Lieutenant-Governor of Tasmania (1847-55) and Governor of New South Wales (1855-61).


Denison is an inner metropolitan division centred in the greater Hobart region. Denison extends from Austins Ferry in the north to Firthside and Bonnet Hill in the south, from Hobart in the east to Collinsvale in the west. The City of Hobart and the City of Glenorchy are in this division, along with part of the Municipality of Kingborough.

Map of the division of Denison 290 sq km

Number of electors on the Tasmanian Electoral Roll

71,322 (as at 19 February 2010)

Sitting members

The Division of Denison is both a House of Assembly and a federal House of Representatives electorate.

Check who currently represents you in all three levels of government, using our handy 'My Reps' tool.

At the 2010 House of Assembly Election

Electors enrolled: 71,322
Electors voted: 66,317 (92.98%)
Informal votes: 2,541 (3.56%)

Back to House of Assembly main page

This page was last modified at 4:41:51 PM Tuesday, 21 September 2010
You are directed to a disclaimer and copyright notice governing the information provided.