Bass | Braddon | Denison | FRANKLIN | Lyons

Origin of name

The Division of Franklin takes its name from Sir John Franklin (1786-1847), Lieutenant-Governor of Tasmania (1837-43).


Franklin is an outer metropolitan division and extends from Old Beach in the north to Dover in the south and Seven Mile Beach in the east. The City of Clarence is in the division of Franklin. Other major towns include Blackmans Bay, Cygnet, Franklin, Geeveston, Huonville, most of Kingston, Margate and Snug. Franklin includes Bruny Island.

Map of the division of Franklin 6,911 sq km

Number of electors on the Tasmanian Electoral Roll

70,326 (as at 19 February 2010)

Sitting members

The Division of Franklin is both a state House of Assembly electorate and a federal House of Representatives electorate.

Check who currently represents you in all three levels of government, using our handy 'My Reps' tool.

At the 2010 House of Assembly Election

Electors enrolled: 70,326
Electors voted: 66,593 (94.69%)
Informal votes: 2,548 (3.62%)

Back to House of Assembly main page

This page was last modified at 11:57:32 AM Tuesday, 21 September 2010
You are directed to a disclaimer and copyright notice governing the information provided.