The name Montgomery has strong links with Tasmania.

Field Marshall Viscount Bernard Montgomery received part of his education here as the son of Anglican Bishop, Sir Henry Montgomery. The young Bernard was educated at Hobart's St Michael's Collegiate School, which still has a House named Montgomery, after the Bishop.

An early county of Van Diemen's Land was also named Montgomery, but most likely after the Welsh county, as was the early custom.

But the division is named after none of these. It is named after Mount Montgomery in the Dial Range behind Penguin. It, in turn, is thought to derive its name from a young New Zealand surveyor, Alexander Montgomery, who came to Tasmania in 1889 to become Geological Surveyor and who later became Inspector of Mines.

Montgomery was described by a referee for the Tasmanian job as "a brilliant student, strong, active and reliable". Among his work is a study on the discovery of iron ore at Penguin.

There is also a reference in some records to the mountain being named after "a Mr Montgomery" in England who, sight unseen, had selected a 320-acre (128 hectare) holding in Tasmania that included the mountain but who later gave it away in disgust.

The mountain, part of the 300 hectare Mount Montgomery State Reserve, can be reached from Ironcliffe Road. At 471 metres, the summit provides a stunning vista of northern Tasmania—Table Cape, St Valentine's Peak, Black Bluff, Mount Roland, Mount Barrow, Ben Lomond and the Asbestos Range.


This page was last modified on Tuesday, 18 July 2006.
You are directed to a disclaimer and copyright notice governing the information provided.