File No:

SF0280

Your Ref:

7 March 2008

Mr Richard Bingham
Chairperson
Legislative Council Boundaries Redistribution Committee
Reply Paid 300, GPO Box 300
HOBART TAS 7001

Email: lcredistribution@electoral.tas.gov.au

Dear Richard

Submission - Divisions of Paterson and Wellington

At the Launceston City Council Meeting of 3 March 2008, Council resolved to make a submission to your Redistribution Committee requesting a change for the name of the Division of Paterson to Launceston.

This is not the first time that Council has made a submission on this matter. In January and February 1999, former Mayor, the late Alderman John Lees submitted three separate pieces of correspondence in support of the retention of the name Launceston rather than the proposed re naming of the Division to Paterson.

The points in support of John's argument for the name Launceston as contained in his letter of 1 February 1999 (copy attached) are still valid today, particularly:

- Launceston was the name of a Legislative Council Electoral Division from the beginning, until its change in 1999.
- A large proportion of the electors (over 70%) in the Division of Paterson also live in the Launceston Municipal Area and readily identify with the name Launceston as an area to which they belong.
- Conversely, the name Paterson does not convey any guidance or clear impression of a particular area of place.
- The name Paterson may be confused with Patersonia which is not within the Division of Paterson, but located in an adjoining division.
- There is not a strong link with the name Paterson and the electoral division. Paterson Street is a street within the City of Launceston, but it is hardly a well recognised geographical feature. Also, most of

Paterson Street is located in the adjoining electoral Division of Rosevears.

In addition to the above points, Council is aware that there are a number of precedents and examples in other Australian States and Territories, where electoral divisions are named after a specific locality; Eg Dubbo and Cessnock in NSW, Geelong and Ballarat in Vic and Noosa and Rockhampton in Qld, to name a few.

Furthermore, Council is of the view that many of the arguments for returning the name Launceston to the electoral Division of Paterson, would equally apply to the electoral Division formerly known as Hobart and now called Wellington.

In conclusion, Council submits that the electoral divisions of Paterson and Wellington should be returned to their original names of Launceston and Hobart respectively.

Yours sincerely

Alderman A van Zetten MAYOR

Enc: Copy of letter from Alderman John Lees (dec) dated 1 February 1999

File No: 05.60.00,004(3)

1 February 1999

The Hon R R Nettlefold Chairperson Redistribution Tribunal

Facsimile: 1800 198 822

Dear Sir

At its meeting today, the Launceston City Council considered the 2nd Further Redistribution proposal for the Legislative Council boundaries.

Council made the following unanimous decision

That Launceston City Council strongly urge the Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution Tribunal to retain the name Launceston for the electoral division it proposes to name Paterson.

In making its decision Council noted a number of issues that support the retention of the name "Launceston, namely

- Launceston is the third oldest city in Australia.
- This Legislative Council Electoral Division has always been known as Launceston.
- The name Launceston conforms to the criteria used by the Tribunal to name all the other proposed division – whereas Paterson is the only name which does not conform.
- A large majority of the electors in the proposed Division of Paterson live in the Launceston municipal area (16 364 out of 22 099 or 74%) and most of the electors live in the Greater Launceston area.
- The name Paterson does not convey any guidance or clear impression of a particular area, as is the case with the other recommended names.
- The name Paterson would be confused with Patersonia, which is not within the division of Paterson, but is located in an adjoining division.

- It would provide continuity for a long established and readily identifiable divisional name and the tradition associated with that.
- The division contains the Launceston Central Business District.
- It will make it easier for existing and new electors to adapt to the new boundaries.
- It will reduce the risk of confusion of divisions and boundaries.
- If the names of Launceston and Hobart are retained it will mean that a
 majority (8) of the new divisions will retain existing names, which will
 assist with identification, continuity and adapting to the new divisions and
 to the total redistribution.
- It will minimise the changes to which people need to adjust.
- It will reduce the necessity and cost of replacing and reprinting items such as stationary, folders, name cards and other material.
- It will not signal transitional arrangements which could not be predicted with some certainty in the case of both Paterson (Launceston) and Wellington (Hobart).
- The name Paterson is inappropriate as Paterson Street cannot be regarded as a "well-recognised geographical" feature, it is not the main street in the City and most of Pateron Street is located in the proposed electorate of Rosevears.
- In all the circumstances Launceston is the most logical name for this Division.

In conclusion, Council submits that there is no valid reason for changing the well-established name of Launceston to Paterson and the name Launceston should be retained.

Yours sincerely

Alderman John Lees MAYOR