Derwent Valley Council
by-elections 2022

Derwent Valley Council logo

 With the resignation of Derwent Valley Council Mayor Ben Shaw on 11 December 2021, by-elections are required to fill the vacant positions of mayor and one councillor.

The term of office of the elected mayor and councillor will be until the completion of the next ordinary election (due to be held September/October 2022).

Derwent Valley

Election calendar

Monday 10 January

Nominations open

Thursday 13 January

Enrolment closes

12 noon 
Thursday 20 January

Nominations close

12 noon 
Friday 21 January

Announcement of nominations  

Thursday 27 January

Ballot packs delivered by post

Tuesday 22 February

Close of polling

From 9am 
Wednesday 23 February

Counting of ballot papers and progressive results

Voting at local government elections

Local government elections in Tasmania are a full postal ballot.

This means there is a 'polling period', rather than one polling day as for State Parliamentary elections. Every elector will be sent their very own postal ballot pack at their postal address. You then have around 4 weeks to complete and post your vote back to the returning officer. The polling period for the Derwent Valley Council by-elections is from Tuesday 25 January to 2pm Tuesday 22 February 2022.

When voting, be aware that the elected mayoral candidate can only accept the position if they are either a current councillor or the newly elected councillor. Learn more 

Considering standing as a candidate?

  Nominations have closed.

Detailed election information and procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

Who represents you?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

Related information


Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of by-elections and recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is local government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.