2024 State Election

Voting early, in person at a pre-poll centre

If you expect to be unable to vote on polling day, there will be pre-poll voting centres available at various locations in Tasmania from Monday 4 March 2024 and one centre in the capital of each Australian state and territory from Wednesday 6 March 2024. Check opening hours and locations below.


  1. You attend the pre-poll centre.
  2. You declare you are unable to attend a polling place on polling day.
  3. You record your vote and place it in the ballot box.

Locations in Tasmania

  Early voting locations are now closed. See polling places opening on Saturday 23 March.

Some pre-poll centres will open on Monday 4 March and additional locations will open on Monday 18 March.

All Tasmanian pre-poll centres will be open from 8:30 am until 5:30 pm weekdays and until 6 pm on Friday 22 March.

  The TEC Moonah office is not a pre-poll place and cannot accept votes. A pre-poll centre will open at the Moonah Arts Centre on Monday 18 March. Details below.

 Vision impaired voting is provided at some centres. Check location details below for availability.

From Monday 4 March

Locality:  Burnie
Address:  22 Wilmot St
 Vision impaired voting service

Locality:  Devonport
Address:  2/101 Oldaker St

Locality:  Kingston
Address:  Kingborough Community Hub, 7 Goshawk Way

Locality:  Launceston
Address:  Cornwall Sq Transit Centre, 182-192 Cimitiere St
 Vision impaired voting service

Locality:  Sorell
Address:  PCYC shed, Pembroke Park, Arthur St
Access: After passing through the main gates off Arthur Street, take the unsealed road to the right, travelling to the northern car park.

From Monday 18 March

Locality:  George Town
Address:  George Town Memorial Hall, 29-67 Macquarie St

Locality:  Moonah
Address:  Moonah Arts Centre, 23-27 Albert Rd

Locality:  New Norfolk
Address:  New Norfolk War Memorial Hall, Circle St

Locality:  Queenstown
Address:  Queenstown Memorial Hall, 53 Orr St

Locality:  Scottsdale
Address:  St Barnabas' Church Hall, 57 King St

Locality:  Smithton
Address:  Smithton Hockey Centre, 51/53 Havelock St

Locality:  St Helens
Address:  Portland Memorial Hall, 39 Cecilia St

Locations interstate

Voting at interstate pre-poll centres will be available from Wednesday 6 March. Centres will be issuing votes during their normal business hours until Friday 22 March.

State or territory:  ACT
Organisation:  Elections ACT
Pre-poll address:  Nara Centre, 3 Constitution Ave, Canberra City

State or territory:  NSW
Organisation:  NSW Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 23, 175 Liverpool Street, Sydney

State or territory:  NT
Organisation:  Northern Territory Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 3, TCG Centre, 80 Mitchell Street, Darwin

State or territory:  QLD
Organisation:  Electoral Commission of Queensland
Pre-poll address:  Level 20, 1 Eagle Street, Brisbane City

State or territory:  SA
Organisation:  Electoral Commission SA
Pre-poll address:  Level 6, 60 Light Square, Adelaide

State or territory:  VIC
Organisation:  Victorian Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 11, 530 Collins Street, Melbourne

State or territory:  WA
Organisation:  Western Australian Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 2, 66 St Georges Terrace, Perth

Related information


Profiles and maps of the five divisions.

Learn more   
Who represents you?

A search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.
(opens in new tab)

Learn more   
Previous elections

Results of previous elections and recounts.
(opens in new tab)

Learn more   
Media releases

Latest news from the TEC.

Learn more