



Sorell Council 2018 election report

Contents

- Local Government Elections in Tasmania
- Report on the 2018 Sorell Council Elections
- List of Councillors following the 2018 elections
- Councillor results
- Mayor and Deputy Mayor results

Local Government Elections in Tasmania

The 2018 Sorell Council election was conducted by the Tasmanian Electoral Commission in accordance with the *Local Government Act* 1993.

Candidate information booklets and complete election results for the state are published on the TEC website www.tec.tas.gov.au.

2018 Election timetable

Notice of election published Saturday 8 September

Nominations opened 9am Monday 10 September
Electoral rolls closed 6pm Thursday 13 September
Nominations closed 12 noon Monday 24 September
Nominations announced 12 noon Tuesday 25 September

Ballot material received by electors 8–12 October
Polling period 8–30 October

Close of poll 10am Tuesday 30 October

Councillor casual vacancies

Councillor casual vacancies are filled by recount. Only unelected candidates from the relevant election may contest a recount. If there are no unelected candidates able to contest the recount, or the casual vacancy is also for the mayoral position, a by-election is held. A candidate elected at a recount or by-election serves until the next council election.

No casual vacancies are filled within 6 months of the next ordinary election, unless the vacancy results in the council unable to have a quorum.

Elector polls

A council may hold an elector poll on any issue it determines. A council may also be required to hold an elector poll following petitions from electors in accordance with Part 6 of the Act. A council is not bound by the result of an elector poll.

Electoral system

Elections for councillor positions are conducted using a system modelled on the Hare-Clark method of proportional representation used in Tasmanian House of Assembly elections.

Mayoral and deputy mayoral elections use a preferential system similar to that used for Tasmanian Legislative Council and federal House of Representatives elections.

Voting in Tasmanian local government elections is not compulsory.

Andrew Hawkey ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER July 2019

Report on the 2018 Sorell Council Elections

Elections were held for the positions of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and 9 Councillors, all for 4 year terms.

11 393 Sorell electors were enrolled for the 2018 elections, comprising 11 156 (97.92%) from the State House of Assembly roll and 237 (2.08%) from the General Manager's roll. 56.83% of Sorell electors returned their ballot papers in comparison with 58.72% statewide.

Sorell Councillors

Councillors are listed in order of their election.

Prior to the 2018 elections	Following the 2018 elections
Mayor	Mayor

VINCENT, Kerry John VINCENT, Kerry

Deputy Mayor Deputy Mayor

McDONALD, Brett REYNOLDS, Natham

9 Councillors9 CouncillorsVINCENT, Kerry JohnDe WILLIAMS, Deborah

TORENIUS, Carmel DEGRASSI, Kerry

McDONALD, Brett GALA, Vlad

REYNOLDS, Natham JACKSON, Geoffrey

DE WILLIAMS, Deborah NICHOLS, Beth

EVANS, Graeme REED, Melinda
WHITE, Lindsay REYNOLDS, Natham

GALA, Vlad TORENIUS, Carmel

DEGRASSI, Kerry VINCENT, Kerry

MEDIA RELEASE - 2018 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTIONS

The candidates

Sorell Council	enrolment 11 393
Councillor	9 candidates (9 to be elected) – no ballot required
De WILLIAMS, Deborah	Midway Point
DEGRASSI, Kerry	Dodges Ferry
GALA, Vlad	Dodges Ferry
JACKSON, Geoffrey	Sorell
NICHOLS, Beth	Dodges Ferry
REED, Melinda	Dodges Ferry
REYNOLDS, Natham	Midway Point
TORENIUS, Carmel	Forcett
VINCENT, Kerry	Forcett
Mayor	1 candidate – no ballot required
VINCENT, Kerry	Forcett
Deputy Mayor	4 candidates
De WILLIAMS, Deborah	Midway Point
REED, Melinda	Dodges Ferry
REYNOLDS, Natham	Midway Point
TORENIUS, Carmel	Forcett

Sorell Council - 2018 Councillor election

Returning Officer: Ashley Cooper

Number to be elected: 9

Number of candidates: 9 (elected unopposed)

De WILLIAMS, Deborah DEGRASSI, Kerry GALA, Vlad JACKSON, Geoffrey NICHOLS, Beth REED, Melinda REYNOLDS, Natham TORENIUS, Carmel

VINCENT, Kerry

Sorell Council

Polling closed at 10am 30 October 2018 Returning Officer: Ashley Cooper

Mayor — Kerry Vincent (elected unopposed)

Deputy	Mayor	Declarations admitted: 6 321 Ballot paper adjustment: 4 Total ballot papers: 6 317				Formal Votes: Informal ballot Informality rate	papers: 61		
		De WILLIAMS Deborah	REED Melinda	REYNOLDS Natham	TORENIUS Carmel	Exhausted	Total Votes	Absolute Majority	Remarks
Count 1	Progress Total	988	1097	2318	1853	0	6256	3129	First preferences
Count 2	Votes transferred	-988	422	273	233	60			De WILLIAMS excluded
	Progress Total	0	1519	2591	2086	60	6256	3099	
Count 3	Votes transferred		-1519	811	640	68			REED excluded
	Progress Total		0	3402	2726	128	6256	3065	REYNOLDS elected

2018 Sorell Deputy Mayor election - first preferences

