About Legislative Council

Legislative Council election tagline - Your division. Your vote. Your voice.

Pembroke by-election

A by-election will be conducted for the Upper House division of Pembroke.

The elected member for Pembroke will serve until the 2025 periodic elections.

Remember, voting in the Legislative Council elections is compulsory.

There are fifteen Legislative Council divisions:

On Saturday 5 August 2017, new Legislative Council electoral boundaries came into effect due to the completion of the 2016-17 Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution process.
New maps and division descriptions 

You can learn more about the redistribution and new boundaries here .

2022 elections

Elections were conducted for the Upper House divisions of Elwick, Huon (by-election) and McIntyre on Saturday 7 May 2022.

Remember, voting in the Legislative Council elections is compulsory.

Analysis of participation at the 2021 Legislative Council elections

With lower than expected turnouts at the 2021 Legislative Council elections, and reports of some Derwent and Windermere electors attending polling places where Legislative Council ballot papers were not available, the Commission has completed a report on voter participation for these elections, which has been provided to the Legislative Council.

Previous Legislative Council elections

Archived election pages and results summaries.

2021 Legislative Council elections

Derwent, Mersey and Windermere.

The periodic election cycle

Elections are conducted on a 6 year periodic cycle. Elections for 3 members are held in May one year, with elections for 2 members held in May the following year and so on. Each elector may only have one opportunity to vote in Legislative Council elections once every 6 years.

Quarterly enrolment -

Under section 9 of the Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995, the Electoral Commissioner is to publish quarterly Legislative Council enrolment figures.

The periodic cycle

Periodic Legislative Council elections are held on the first Saturday in May each year, as outlined below:

Historic data
2022 Elwick History
McIntyre History
2023 Launceston History
Murchison History
Rumney History
2024 Hobart History
Prosser History
2025 Montgomery History
Nelson History
Pembroke History
2026 Huon History
Rosevears History
2027 Derwent History
Mersey History
Windermere History

Electing 2 Houses of Parliament

A great infographic comparing the differences in electing the 2 houses of Parliament in Tasmania.