Legislative Council elections 2024

Legislative Council election tagline - Your division. Your vote. Your voice.

Voting early, in person at a pre-poll centre

If you expect to be unable to vote on polling day, there will be pre-poll voting centres available at various locations in Tasmania from Monday 15 April 2024 and one centre in the capital of each Australian state and territory from Wednesday 17 April 2024. Check opening hours and locations below.


  1. You attend the pre-poll centre.
  2. You declare you are unable to attend a polling place on polling day.
  3. You record your vote and place it in the ballot box.

Locations in Tasmania

Some pre-poll centres will open on Monday 15 April and additional locations will open on Monday 29 April.

All Tasmanian pre-poll centres will be open from 8:30 am until 5:30 pm weekdays and until 6 pm on Friday 3 May.

  The TEC Moonah office is not a pre-poll place and cannot accept votes. A pre-poll centre will be open in Moonah at Your Church Tasmania from Monday 15 April. Details below.

All centres will be closed on Thursday 25 April for the Anzac Day public holiday.

 Vision impaired voting is provided at some centres. Check location details below for availability.

From Monday 15 April

Locality:  Hobart
Address:  Icon Complex (lower level), 55-59 Murray St
 Vision impaired voting service

Locality:  Moonah
Address:  Your Church Tasmania (old Coogans store), 29 Charles St
Access:  Car park off Charles St or on foot via 80 Main Rd, Moonah.
 Vision impaired voting service

Locality:  Sorell
Address:  Sorell Bowls Club, 11 Parsonage Pl
 Vision impaired voting service

From Monday 29 April

Locality:  Brighton
Address:  Brighton Bowls Club, 211 Brighton Rd

Locality:  Swansea
Address:  Swansea Town Hall, 12 Franklin St

Locations interstate

Voting at interstate pre-poll centres will be available from Wednesday 17 April. Centres will be issuing votes during their normal business hours until Friday 3 May. All centres will be closed on Thursday 25 April for the Anzac Day public holiday.

State or territory:  ACT
Organisation:  Elections ACT
Pre-poll address:  Ground floor, Nara Centre, 3 Constitution Ave, Canberra City

State or territory:  NSW
Organisation:  NSW Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 23, 175 Liverpool Street, Sydney

State or territory:  NT
Organisation:  Northern Territory Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 3, TCG Centre, 80 Mitchell Street, Darwin

State or territory:  QLD
Organisation:  Electoral Commission of Queensland
Pre-poll address:  Level 20, 1 Waterfront Place, Brisbane

State or territory:  SA
Organisation:  Electoral Commission SA
Pre-poll address:  Level 6, 60 Light Square, Adelaide

State or territory:  VIC
Organisation:  Victorian Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 11, 530 Collins Street, Melbourne

State or territory:  WA
Organisation:  Western Australian Electoral Commission
Pre-poll address:  Level 2, 66 St Georges Terrace, Perth

Related information


Profiles and maps of the three divisions.

Learn more   
Who represents you?

A search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.
(opens in new tab)

Learn more   
Previous elections

Results of previous elections.
(opens in new tab)

Learn more   
Media releases

Latest news from the TEC.

Learn more