Information for candidates

Three council logos - Glenorchy City Council, Kingborough Council, and West Coast Council.

By-elections, conducted by postal ballot, will be held to fill vacancies for mayor and one councillor of each council.

The term of office of elected mayors and councillors will be until the completion of the next ordinary election (due to be held September/October 2022).

Candidate nomination

  Nominations have closed.

To complete the nomination process, you need to submit one nomination form and one (optional) candidate statement. These forms are separate and can be completed at any time, but both must be lodged by 12 noon, Wednesday 16 June 2021.

Candidate handbook

The handbook contains election information and details on procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

If you would like a hard copy of the handbook, copies are available from:

Alternatively, free call the TEC on 1800 801 701 and we will post one to you.

Nomination forms

  Nominations have closed.

There are two parts to a nomination: a nomination form and a candidate statement (optional).

 Nomination form [PDF, 362KB, printable]

Online candidate statement form [link opens in a new tab]

  Nominations must be received between 9am Monday 7 June and 12 noon Wednesday 16 June 2021.

See below for details on submitting a nomination form.

How to submit your nomination form

  Nominations have closed.

Nomination forms can be lodged with the returning officer or an appointed electoral officer at your council. Candidate statements must be submitted separately, electronically using the link provided in the section above.

It is the responsibility of the candidate to ensure that the nomination form is received by the returning officer or an electoral officer at your council before the close of nominations 12 noon Wednesday 16 June 2021. Please carefully consider this if lodging by post with possible delays in delivery.

Lodgement details for nomination forms

Returning Officer:  Sarah Mathews
Office:  Tasmanian Electoral Commission, Level 3, 169 Main Road, Moonah
Postal address: PO Box 1005, Moonah 7009
Office hours: 9am-5pm weekdays (closed Mon 14 June for Queen's Birthday public holiday)
Fax:  6208 8791
Phone:  (03) 6208 8700 or free call 1800 801 701

Council:  Glenorchy City
Electoral Officer(s):  Janina Gauden, Jodi Plunkett, and Bryn Hannan.
Office:  Glenorchy City Council, 374 Main Road, Glenorchy
Office hours: 8:30am-5pm weekdays (closed Mon 14 June for Queen's Birthday public holiday)
Phone:  (03) 6216 6800

Council:  Kingborough
Electoral Officer(s):  Daniel Smee and Amanda Morton.
Office:  Kingborough Council, 15 Channel Highway, Kingston
Office hours: 8:30am-5pm weekdays (closed Mon 14 June for Queen's Birthday public holiday)
Phone:  (03) 6211 8200

Council:  West Coast
Electoral Officer(s):  Samantha Eley and Sharon James.
Office:  West Coast Council, 11 Sticht Street, Queenstown
Office hours: 8:30am-5pm weekdays (closed Mon 14 June for Queen's Birthday public holiday)
Phone:  (03) 6471 4700

Expenditure advertising return FAQs

Some answers to frequently asked questions and important points regarding recent changes to electoral advertising.

Candidate's advertising return

This return must be returned no later than 45 days after the day on which the returning officer gives a certificate of election.

Related information


Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of by-elections and recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is local government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.