Burnie City Council
By-Elections 2017

Burnie City Council logo

Election calendar


Thursday 26 October

Nominations Open


Monday 30 October

Rolls Close

12 noon

Thursday 2 November

Nominations Close

12 noon

Friday 3 November

Announcement of Nominations


Tuesday 5 December

Close of Polling

Media release

Polling Period:

Tuesday 7 November
to 10am
Tuesday 5 December


Candidate names are listed below in alphabetical order, but they will be rotated on ballot papers.

Councillor (Alderman) - 6 candidates

AITKEN, TrentBurnie
ANDERSON, MickBurnie
KEYGAN, AminaBurnie
MIHOCEK, JackBurnie
TOLPUTT, BobHillcrest

Mayor - 4 candidates

BENTLEY, RobertBurnie
BOYD, AlvwynBurnie
DORSEY, KenBurnie

Candidate Statements

Each elector receives a ballot pack containing a ballot paper and a booklet which has voting instructions and statements from the candidates.

(pdf booklet opens in a new tab):⤵

Electoral advertising returns

All candidates must lodge with the Electoral Commissioner an electoral advertising return within 45 days after the day the certificate of election is given. Returns are also required from anyone who prints, publishes, or broadcasts electoral advertising. Therefore all media and publishers involved in electoral advertising must also lodge a return.

Voting at Local Government Elections

Local government elections in Tasmania are a full postal ballot.

  This means there is a 'polling period', rather than one polling day as for state Parliamentary elections. Every elector will be sent their very own postal ballot pack at their postal address. You then have around 4 weeks to complete and post your vote back to the returning officer. In 2017 the Burnie City by-elections polling period is between Tuesday 7 November to 10am Tuesday 5 December.

  If you are outside of Tasmania during the polling period, you may apply for an express vote.

envelope image

Haven’t received your pack?

If you haven’t received your ballot pack by Tuesday 14 November, please request a new pack. Visit Burnie City Council offices for quick access to a replacement pack, or call us and we will mail one out to you.

  Hurry, we must receive your vote by 10am Tuesday 5 December.

Candidate Handbook*

If you would like a hard copy of the Candidate Information Booklet, copies are available from the Burnie City Council office, 80 Wilson Street, Burnie, and also the Tasmanian Electoral Commission (TEC) office, 169 Main Road, Moonah. Alternatively, call the TEC on 1800 801 701 and we will post one to you.

* Note - The section about nominating as mayor or deputy mayor on page 5 of the booklet should be read in conjunction with the supplement at the beginning of the handbook.

Who can vote in local government elections?

Are you on the State electoral roll?

If you are currently on the electoral roll, you are automatically on the Local Government roll for the municipal area (council) in which your enrolled address is located.

If you are eligible to be on the state electoral roll but are not correctly enrolled, you can:

To be enrolled correctly for the 2017 Burnie City by-elections we need to have received your completed enrolment form before 6pm Monday 30 October 2017.

What if I have a shack or a shop—or if I’m not an Australian citizen?

You are also eligible to be on the Local Government roll if:

  • you own or occupy land in a municipal area different from where you are enrolled on the state electoral roll, or
  • you are the nominated representative of a corporate body which owns or occupies land in the municipal area.

To enrol under these special provisions you need to complete the appropriate enrolment form:

To be enrolled under these special provisions for the Burnie City by-elections you need to ensure that the General Manager for the Council in which you are enrolling has your completed enrolment form before 6pm Monday 30 October 2017.

Related information

Enrolment on the State Roll

Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2014 elections

A record of By-elections and Recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is Local Government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.