Central Highlands Council
By-Elections 2016


Monday 22 August

Nominations Open


Thursday 25 August

Rolls Close

12 noon

Thursday 8 September

Nominations Close

12 noon

Friday 9 September

Announcement of Nominations


Tuesday 11 October

Close of Polling

Polling Period:

Tuesday 13 September to 10am Tuesday 11 October

  Printable calendar


By-elections completed media release

RESULT (abstract of the count)


Mayor - 3 candidates

BENSON, Lana Michelle Ouse
CASSIDY, Robert L Bothwell
TRIFFITT, Loueen (Lou) Hamilton

Candidate names are listed above in alphabetical order, but they will be rotated on ballot papers.

Councillor - 1 candidate
(no ballot required)

POORE, Jim Bothwell

Candidate Statements

Each elector receives a ballot pack containing a ballot paper and a booklet which has voting instructions and statements from the candidates.

(pdf booklet opens in a new tab):⤵

Voting at Local Government Elections

Local government elections in Tasmania are a full postal ballot.

  This means there is a 'polling period', rather than one polling day as for state Parliamentary elections. Every elector will be sent their very own postal ballot pack at their postal address. You then have around 4 weeks to complete and post your vote back to the returning officer. In 2016 the Central Highland by-elections polling period is between Tuesday 13 September to 10am Tuesday 11 October.

  If you are outside of Tasmania during the polling period, you may apply for an express vote.

 Between 13th and 16th September, keep your eye on the mailbox for your ballot pack, which will look like this:

Who can vote in local government elections?

Are you on the State electoral roll?

If you are currently on the electoral roll, you are automatically on the Local Government roll for the municipal area (council) in which your enrolled address is located.

If you are eligible to be on the state electoral roll but are not correctly enrolled, you can:

What if I have a shack or a shop—or if I’m not an Australian citizen?

You are also eligible to be on the Local Government roll if:

To enrol under these special provisions you need to complete the appropriate enrolment form:

Candidate Handbook

If you would like a hard copy of the Candidate Information Booklet, please call the TEC on 1800 801 701 and we will post one to you.

link to2014 LG candidate handbook

Related information

Enrolment on the State Roll

Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2014 elections

A record of By-elections and Recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is Local Government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.