George Town Council
By-Elections 2019

George Town Council logo

By-elections, conducted by postal ballot, will be held to fill vacancies for Mayor and one Councillor on the George Town Council.
The successful candidate for Mayor will serve until the 2022 ordinary election.
The successful candidate for Councillor will serve until the 2022 ordinary election.

Candidate Nomination

To complete the nomination process, you need to submit one Nomination Form and one (optional) Candidate Statement.

These forms are separate and can be completed at any time, but both must be lodged by 12 noon, Thursday 27 June 2019.

  Nominations have closed.

Candidates will be announced at 12 noon, Friday 28 June and will be published shortly after that.

Graphic of candidate information booklet

Candidate Information Booklet + Supplement

  Please note that the dates in the booklet refer to the 2018 ordinary elections. This booklet is to be read in conjunction with the supplement that details updates to legislation and policies since.

The booklet contains election information and details on procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

If you would like a hard copy of the Candidate Information Booklet and Supplement, copies are available from the:

  1. George Town Council office, 16-18 Anne Street, George Town, or
  2. Tasmanian Electoral Commission (TEC) office, 169 Main Road, Moonah

Alternatively, call the TEC on 1800 801 701 and we will post one to you.

Nomination Form

  Nominations have closed.

The Nomination Form and online Candidate Statement may only be lodged once nominations open 9am Monday 17 June. For details about lodging your nomination, see the back of the nomination form.

  Nominations must be received between 9am Monday 17 June and 12 noon Thursday 27 June 2019.

Where to lodge your nomination

  Nominations have closed.

Nominations can be lodged with the returning officer or an electoral officer for your council.

Returning Officer
Kristi Read
Tasmanian Electoral Commission
Level 3 TasWater building, 169 Main Rd, Moonah
(PO Box 1005, Moonah 7009)
9am-5pm Mon-Fri
Freecall: 1800 801 701
Ph: 6208 8700
Fax: 6208 8791

Electoral officer(s)
Josie Higgins or Shane Power
George Town Council
16-18 Anne St, George Town
8:30am-5pm Mon-Fri
Ph: 6382 8800

Expenditure Advertising Return Q&A

Some answers to frequently asked questions and important points regarding recent changes to electoral advertising.

Candidate's Advertising Return -

This return must be returned no later than 45 days after the day on which the returning officer gives a Certificate of Election.

Related information

Enrolment on the State Roll

Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of By-elections and Recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is Local Government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.