

There are two separate by-elections: one to elect a mayor and the other to elect a councillor.

There are three candidates for the position of <u>mayor</u> –one of whom is a current councillor.

Mayor

There are four candidates for the councillor position.

Councillor

ဂို ဂို ဂို ဂို

Electors vote for mayor





Mayor votes are counted

The candidate who obtains a majority of votes is elected as the new mayor.*

តុំ **កុំ** កុំ

Electors vote for councillor





Councillor votes are counted

The candidate who obtains a majority of votes is elected as the new <u>councillor</u>.

* The elected mayoral candidate can only accept the position if they are either a current councillor or the newly elected councillor. If they are not a current or newly elected councillor, the position of mayor remains vacant.

Under the Local Government Act, a new by-election will be required to fill the position of <u>mayor</u>.



Tasmanian Electoral Commission