2023 Launceston City Council mayoral

Launceston City Council logo


Nominations are invited. Only current councillors of the Launceston City Council may accept the position of mayor.

The term of office of the elected mayor will be until the completion of the next ordinary election (due to be held September/October 2026).

Candidate handbook + insert

The handbook contains election information and details on procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

If you would like a hard copy of the handbook, copies are available from:

Tasmanian Electoral Commission (TEC) northern office, 12 Goodman Court, Invermay

Alternatively, free call the TEC on 1800 801 701 and we will post one to you.

Candidate Nomination

To complete the nomination process, you need to submit one nomination form and one (optional) candidate statement. These forms are separate and can be completed at any time, it is the responsibility of the candidate that both are lodged by 12 noon, Tuesday 6 June 2023.

 Nomination form [PDF, 350KB, printable]

Nomination forms must be lodged with the returning officer. Candidate statements must be submitted separately, electronically using the link provided in the section below.

Lodgement details for nomination forms

Returning Officer:  Jenny Hart
Office:  Tasmanian Electoral Commission, 12 Goodman Court, Invermay
Postal address: PO Box 690, Launceston 7250
Office hours: 9am-5pm weekdays (closed Mon 12 June for King's Birthday public holiday)
Email:  nominations@tec.tas.gov.au
Fax:  6208 8791
Phone:  (03) 6208 8770 or free call 1800 801 701

Candidate Statements

Candidates may use the link below to submit a written statement and photograph which will appear in the candidate brochure delivered to all electors in the Launceston City Council local government area. 

Candidate statements must be lodged by 12 noon, Tuesday 6 June 2023.

Online candidate statement form [link opens in a new tab]

Candidate's advertising return

This return must be returned no later than 45 days after the day on which the returning officer gives a certificate of election.

Related information


Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of by-elections and recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is local government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.