2023 Launceston City Council mayoral

Launceston City Council logo

With the resignation of Launceston City Council Mayor Danny Gibson on 15 May 2023, a by-election is required to fill the vacant position of mayor.

The term of office of the elected mayor will be until the completion of the next ordinary election (due to be held September/October 2026).

Voting in local government by-elections is now compulsory

Every Launceston City Council elector will be sent a personally addressed postal ballot pack at their postal address. They will then have almost 4 weeks to complete and return their vote. The polling period for the Launceston City Council by-election is from Wednesday 14 June to 2pm Tuesday 11 July 2023.

Launceston City

Election calendar

Monday 29 May

Nominations open

Thursday 1 June

Enrolment closes

12 noon 
Tuesday 6 June

Nominations close

12 noon 
Wednesday 7 June

Nominations announced  

Wednesday 14 June

Ballot packs delivered by post

Tuesday 11 July

Close of the poll

From 9am 
Wednesday 12 July

Counting of ballot papers and progressive results

Considering standing as a candidate?

Detailed election information and procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

Who represents you?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

Council location

The address link below opens the location in Google Maps in a new window.

Derwent Valley Council
Location:  Circle Street, New Norfolk
Office hours: 9:00am-4:00pm weekdays
Phone:  (03) 6261 8500

Related information


Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   

A record of by-elections and recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is local government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.