TEC logo

About the Tasmanian Electoral Commission (TEC)

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission was established on 16 February 2005.

The members of the Commission are:

Commission Chair
Mike Blake
appointed 30 November 2016

Karen Frost
appointed 30 November 2016

Electoral Commissioner
Andrew Hawkey
appointed 11 February 2016

To contact the Electoral Commissioner directly via email, use 'andrew.hawkey' followed by '@tec.tas.gov.au'.

Commission Responsibilities

The Commission and the Electoral Commissioner have statutory responsibilities for the independent and impartial conduct of elections and referendums.

The Commission undertakes the conduct of:

The Electoral Commissioner is a member of the Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution Committee and Tribunal. The Tribunal is also responsible for determining transition arrangements for redistributions.

Commission Approvals and Determinations

Under the Electoral Act 2004 the Commission is required to make approvals and determinations. All current Commission approvals and determinations are listed in the following pages:

Electoral Roll Management

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission and the Australian Electoral Commission jointly manage and maintain the electoral rolls for Federal, State and Local Government elections.

The Electoral Commissioner is a member of the Electoral Council of Australia which oversights electoral and enrolment policy and systems at a national level.

Vote Alert

Who Represents


Working for
the TEC

Voting Systems in Tasmania

Received an
Infringement Notice?

© Tasmanian Electoral Commission