By-elections 2021

Three council logos - Glenorchy City Council, Kingborough Council, and West Coast Council.

 With the election of Kristie Johnston (former Glenorchy City Mayor) and Dean Winter (former Kingborough Mayor) to Parliament, and the resignation of Phil Vickers (former West Coast Mayor) on 30 April, three councils require by-elections for one councillor and one mayor positions each. These by-elections, conducted by postal ballot, will run in parallel on the same timetable.

The term of office of elected mayors and councillors will be until the completion of the next ordinary election (due to be held September/October 2022).

The candidates

Glenorchy City, Kingborough, and West Coast councils candidates have been announced.


Election calendar

Monday 7 June

Nominations open

Thursday 10 June

Enrolment closes

12 noon 
Wednesday 16 June

Nominations close

12 noon 
Thursday 17 June

Announcement of nominations  

Tuesday 22 June

Ballot packs delivered by post

Tuesday 20 July

Close of polling

Voting at local government elections

Local government elections in Tasmania are a full postal ballot.

This means there is a 'polling period', rather than one polling day as for State Parliamentary elections. Every elector will be sent their very own postal ballot pack at their postal address. You then have around 4 weeks to complete and post your vote back to the returning officer. The polling period for the by-elections is from Tuesday 22 June to 2pm Tuesday 20 July 2021.

Considering standing as a candidate?

  Nominations have closed.

Detailed election information and procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

Who represents you?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

Reporting of electoral advertising

Candidates, printers, publishers, and broadcasters are required to submit an electoral advertising return with the TEC, reporting particulars of election related advertising. Information booklets and forms are available for use.

Related information


Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of by-elections and recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is local government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.