King Island Council
By-Elections 2019

King Island Council logo

By-elections, conducted by postal ballot, will be held to fill vacancies for Mayor and one Councillor on the King Island Council.
The successful candidate for Mayor will serve until the 2022 ordinary election.
The successful candidate for Councillor will serve until the 2022 ordinary election.

By-elections completed

Media release

   Councillor result (abstract of the count)

   Mayor – No ballot required. Julie Arnold elected unopposed.

Election calendar


Thursday 28 February

Nominations Open


Monday 4 March

Rolls Close

12 noon

Thursday 7 March

Nominations Close

12 noon

Friday 8 March

Announcement of Nominations


Wednesday 13 March

Ballot material delivered to electors by post


Tuesday 9 April

Close of Polling

Media releases

King Island


Candidate names are listed below in alphabetical order, but they will be rotated on ballot papers.

1 Councillor – 5 candidates

BOWDEN, DavidCurrie
CHIVERS, MeganCurrie
GHAZARIAN, NubarLymwood
LEWIS, PaulaCurrie
PHILBEY, VernonCurrie

Mayor – 1 candidate (no ballot required)

ARNOLD, JulieNugara

Candidate Statements

Each elector receives a ballot pack containing a ballot paper and a booklet which has voting instructions and statements from the candidates.

This online version contains web links where provided by candidates
(pdf booklet opens in a new tab):⤵

Considering standing as a candidate?

  Nominations have closed.

Detailed election information and procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

Voting at Local Government Elections

Local government elections in Tasmania are a full postal ballot.

  This means there is a 'polling period', rather than one polling day as for State Parliamentary elections. Every elector will be sent their very own postal ballot pack at their postal address. You then have around 3 weeks to complete and post your vote back to the returning officer. The polling period for the King Island by-elections is from Wednesday 13 March to 10am Tuesday 9 April 2019.

envelope image

Haven’t received your pack?

If you haven’t received your ballot pack by Friday 15 March, please request a new pack. Visit the King Island Council office for quick access to a replacement pack, or call us and we will mail one out to you.

  Hurry, we must receive your vote by 10am Tuesday 9 April.

Who can vote in local government elections?

Are you on the State electoral roll?

If you are currently on the electoral roll, you are automatically on the Local Government roll for the municipal area (council) in which your enrolled address is located.

If you are eligible to be on the state electoral roll but are not correctly enrolled, you can:

To be enrolled correctly for the 2019 King Island by-elections we need to have received your completed enrolment form before 6pm Monday 4 March 2019.

What if I have a shack or a shop—or if I’m not an Australian citizen?

You are also eligible to be on the Local Government roll if:

  • you own or occupy land in a municipal area different from where you are enrolled on the state electoral roll, or
  • you are the nominated representative of a corporate body which owns or occupies land in the municipal area.

To enrol under these special provisions you need to complete the appropriate enrolment form:

To be enrolled under these special provisions for the King Island by-elections you need to ensure that the General Manager for the Council in which you are enrolling has your completed enrolment form before 6pm Monday 4 March 2019.

Reporting of Electoral Advertising

Candidates, printers, publishers, and broadcasters are required to submit an electoral advertising return with the TEC, reporting particulars of election related advertising. Information booklets and forms are available for use.

Related information

Enrolment on the State Roll

Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of By-elections and Recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is Local Government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.