Legislative Council
Elections 2018

Divisions 2018

Ordinary elections are conducted on a 6 year periodic cycle. Elections for 3 members are held in May one year, with elections for 2 members held in May the following year and so on.

On Saturday 5 May, Legislative Council elections are being held in the new divisions of Hobart and Prosser. Remember, boundaries have changed. Learn more about the redistribution here 

Preview of Hobart division map



  • south of Lenah Valley Road, Augusta Road, Forster Street and Risdon Road including parts of Lenah Valley and New Town through to the area
  • north of the Sandy Bay Rivulet and west of the Southern Outlet, including Tolmans Hill, Dynnyrne, South Hobart, Battery Point, Fern Tree and Ridgeway.

Preview of Prosser division map



  • the Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Southern Midlands and Tasman municipal areas,
  • the Northern Midlands municipal area south of Conara Junction, including Campbell Town and Lake Leake,
  • the Sorell municipal area east of Orielton Rivulet and the Tasman Highway, including Sorell, Forcett and Nugent, and
  • the Brighton, Tea Tree and Pontville localities located within the Brighton municipal area.

Which Division am I Enrolled in?

Check your enrolment on the Australian Electoral Commission website (opens in a new tab).

There are fifteen Legislative Council divisions:

On Saturday 5 August 2017, new Legislative Council electoral boundaries came into effect due to the completion of the 2016-17 Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution process.
New maps and division descriptions 

You can learn more about the redistribution and new boundaries here .

Each division is represented by one Member of the Legislative Council.

Who Represents You?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

Related information


Progressive results...

Learn more   
Your Candidates

Hobart and Prosser candidates have been announced...

Learn more   
Information for Candidates

Handbook + other information...

Learn more   
Ways to Vote

Services to help you have your say in the Hobart and Prosser Legislative Council elections.

Learn more   
Polling Places

Find your nearest polling place on polling day...

Learn more    
Important Dates

The election calendar - enrolment close, nomination period, polling period...

Learn more    

Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...
(opens in new tab)

Learn more   
What Happens at Election?

The elections begin with the enrolment period and the issue of the ...

Learn more   
Previous Elections

Results of previous elections and past boundaries.
(opens in new tab)

Learn more