House of Assembly Elections

2021 State election

Polling day was Saturday 1 May 2021.

Remember, voting in the House of Assembly elections is compulsory.

Recounts since 2018

Recount results since the 2018 election

(PDFs, will open in new tab)

Calendar icon  Braddon recount
(Joan Rylah)

Calendar icon  Franklin recount
(Will Hodgman)

Calendar icon  Clark recount
(Scott Bacon)

Calendar icon  Lyons recount
(Rene Hidding)

Calendar icon  Braddon recount
(Adam Brooks)

2018 State election

Polling day was Saturday 3 March 2018.

What is
House of Assembly?

The House of Assembly is the lower house of the Tasmanian Parliament.

It is made up of 25 members, including the Premier.

There are five House of Assembly divisions:

Bass, Braddon, Clark, Franklin and Lyons.

These divisions have the same boundaries as the five Commonwealth House of Representatives divisions for Tasmania. There are twenty-five members of the House of Assembly, with five members elected for each of the divisions using the Hare-Clark voting system of multi-member proportional representation. Members are elected for a term of up to 4 years.

  Electoral names and boundaries updated 28 September 2018.

Previous elections

Previous House of Assembly (State) elections

Archived election and result pages (will open in new tab).

Who Represents You?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

Electing 2 Houses of Parliament

A great infographic about electing the 2 houses of Parliament in Tasmania.