Voting + Counting at
Local Government elections

The following steps take you through the processes after your vote is received.

Make Your Mark Local Government elections wordmark.

mail postal ballot illustration
mail postal ballot illustration

Mail your vote back or
drop it off at your Council office

before close of polling at 2pm Tuesday.

dotted line
extraction illustration

Tuesday - Delivery and Extraction Day

After the 2pm close, two processes happen in parallel:

Delivery - All ballots hand-delivered at each Council will be transferred to the TEC office in Moonah

Extraction - For the ballots already with the TEC, staff will extract the ballot papers from the declaration envelopes and balance.
As each council delivery arrives at the TEC, those ballot packs will be checked off the roll, declaration slips removed, votes extracted and added to those already prepared.

dotted line
extraction illustration

Wednesday - Counting Day

The first provisional results for smaller ballots will begin to be published on our website from around midday.

Related information


Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of by-elections and recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is local government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.