By-elections 2021

Three council logos - Glenorchy City Council, Kingborough Council, and West Coast Council.


Glenorchy City, Kingborough, and West Coast councils by-elections

With the election of Kristie Johnston (former Glenorchy City Mayor) and Dean Winter (former Kingborough Mayor) to Parliament, and the resignation of Phil Vickers (former West Coast Mayor) on 30 April, three councils require by-elections for one councillor and one mayor positions each. These by-elections, conducted by postal ballot, will run in parallel on the same timetable. Separate Brighton Council by-elections are also in progress, but on a different timetable.

The term of office of elected mayors and councillors will be until the completion of the next ordinary election (due to be held September/October 2022).


Final results for Glenorchy City, Kingborough, and West Coast councils.

The candidates

Glenorchy City, Kingborough, and West Coast councils candidate statements, photos and web links (where provided).

Ballots returned

Summary of the rate of return of postal votes by council.


Election calendar

Monday 7 June

Nominations open

Thursday 10 June

Enrolment closes

12 noon 
Wednesday 16 June

Nominations close

12 noon 
Thursday 17 June

Announcement of nominations  

Tuesday 22 June

Ballot packs delivered by post

Tuesday 20 July

Close of polling
Delivery + Extraction Day

Wednesday 21 July

Counting Day

Voting at local government elections

Local government elections in Tasmania are a full postal ballot.

This means there is a 'polling period', rather than one polling day as for State Parliamentary elections. Every elector will be sent their very own postal ballot pack at their postal address. You then have around 4 weeks to complete and post your vote back to the returning officer. The polling period for the by-elections is from Tuesday 22 June to 2pm Tuesday 20 July 2021.

When voting, be aware that the elected mayoral candidate can only accept the position if they are either a current councillor or the newly elected councillor. Learn more 

envelope image

Ballot pack

From Tuesday 22 to Friday 25 June, keep your eye on the mailbox for your postal ballot pack, which will look like this with your council logo.  

  If you haven't received your ballot pack or have misplaced it, visit and vote at your  council office or contact the TEC on free call 1800 801 701 for a replacement pack.

Considering standing as a candidate?

  Nominations have closed.

Detailed election information and procedures, as well as requirements regarding campaigning, nominating and submitting candidate statements.

Who represents you?

Use this simple search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.

Reporting of electoral advertising

Candidates, printers, publishers, and broadcasters are required to submit an electoral advertising return with the TEC, reporting particulars of election related advertising. Information booklets and forms are available for use.

Council locations

All address links below open the location in Google Maps in a new window.

Glenorchy City Council
Location:  374 Main Road, Glenorchy
Office hours: 8:30am-5pm weekdays
Phone:  (03) 6216 6800

Kingborough Council
Location (Kingston):  15 Channel Highway, Kingston
Location (Bruny Island):  3893 Bruny Island Main Rd, Alonnah, Bruny Island
Office hours: 8:30am-5pm weekdays
Phone:  (03) 6211 8200

West Coast Council
Location:  11 Sticht Street, Queenstown
Office hours: 8:30am-5pm weekdays
Phone:  (03) 6471 4700

Related information


Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...

Learn more   
Vacancies since the 2018 elections

A record of by-elections and recounts held since...

Learn more   
What is local government?

Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 councillors. Each council is chaired by a mayor and has a deputy mayor. Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils are conducted by full postal ballot every four years.