Local government elections 2022

Local government election tagline - Make your mark. Vote local.

Council issuing and receiving places

  Polling closed at 2pm Tuesday 25 October 2022.

Your local council offices are able to issue ballot packs. Should you have not received yours or require a replacement, details are below. Each council can only issue ballot packs for their own municipality (council). There is also a TEC issued ballot box at each council for the lodgement of your completed ballot pack. Please note, ballot packs must be lodged in the ballot box before 2pm Tuesday 25 October. Keep this in mind, allowing enough time to vote and lodge your pack.

  If you can't drop your ballot pack to your local council, you can lodge it at any council in the region of the state for which you are enrolled. Check the council allocations for the northern and southern regions of the state in the tables below.

Council addresses and opening times

Northern councils

Council Street address Council hours
Break O'Day32-34 Georges Bay Esplanade, St Helens9am - 5pm weekdays
Burnie City80 Wilson St, Burnie8:30am - 5pm weekdays
Central Coast (Ulverstone)19 King Edward St, Ulverstone8am - 4:30pm weekdays
Central Coast (Penguin)Penguin Service Centre, 78 Main Rd, Penguin9am-3:30pm weekdays
Circular Head33 Goldie St, Smithton9:30am - 4:00pm weekdays
Devonport CityLevel 2, 137 Rooke St, Devonport8:45am - 4:45pm weekdays
Dorset3 Ellenor St, Scottsdale8:30am - 4:30pm weekdays
Flinders4 Davies St, Whitemark9am - 4:30pm weekdays
George Town16-18 Anne St, George Town9am - 4pm weekdays
Kentish69 High St, Sheffield8am - 4:30pm weekdays
King Island10 George St, Currie8:30am - 4:30pm weekdays
Latrobe170 Gilbert St, Latrobe8am - 4:30pm weekdays
Launceston CityTown Hall, 18-28 St John St, Launceston8:30am - 5pm weekdays
Meander Valley26 Lyall St, Westbury8:30am - 5pm weekdays
Northern Midlands13 Smith St, Longford8:45am - 4:30pm weekdays
Waratah-Wynyard (Wynyard)21 Saunders St, Wynyard8:30am - 5pm weekdays
Waratah-Wynyard (Waratah)Smith St, Waratah9am-12:30pm, 1:30pm-5pm weekdays
West Tamar (Beaconsfield)6 West St, Beaconsfield8:30am - 4:45pm weekdays
West Tamar (Riverside)2-4 Eden St, Riverside8:30am - 4:45pm weekdays

Council addresses and opening times

Southern councils

Council Street address Council hours
Brighton1 Tivoli Rd, Old Beach8:30am - 4:30pm weekdays
Central Highlands (Hamilton)6 Tarleton St, Hamilton7:30am - 4:30pm weekdays
Central Highlands (Bothwell - no issuing, lodgement only)19 Alexander St, Bothwell8am - 5pm weekdays
Clarence City38 Bligh St, Rosny Park8:30am - 5:15pm weekdays
Derwent Valley1 Circle Street, New Norfolk9am - 4pm weekdays
Glamorgan-Spring Bay9 Melbourne St, Triabunna9am - 4:30pm weekdays
Glenorchy City374 Main Rd, Glenorchy8:30am - 5pm weekdays
Hobart City16 Elizabeth St, Hobart8:15am - 5:15pm weekdays
Hobart City (Town Hall)50 Macquarie St, Hobart8:15am - 5:15pm weekdays
Huon Valley40 Main St, Huonville8:20am - 5pm weekdays
Kingborough (Kingston)15 Channel Hwy, Kingston8:30am - 5pm weekdays
Kingborough (Alonnah)Bruny Island Service Centre, 3893 Bruny Island Main Rd, Alonnah9am - 5pm weekdays
Sorell47 Cole St, Sorell8am - 4:45pm weekdays
Southern Midlands (Oatlands)71 High St, Oatlands9am - 4:30pm weekdays
Southern Midlands (Kempton)85 Main St, Kempton9am - 4:30pm weekdays
Tasman1713 Main Rd, Nubeena8:30am - 4:30pm weekdays
West Coast11 Sticht St, Queenstown8:30am - 5pm weekdays

Related information

Voting information

Local government elections are conducted by postal ballot...

Learn more   
Your candidates

Candidates by council. Includes candidate statements...

Learn more   

Check your enrolment, update your details, or enrol to vote...
(opens in new tab)

Learn more   
Information for candidates

Handbook + other information...

Learn more   
Local government areas

Map of Tasmania's local government (municipal) boundaries.

Map [PDF, 2.0MB]  
Previous elections

Results of previous elections.
(opens in new tab)

Learn more