Local government
by-elections 2024

Glenorchy City and Sorell councils logos

The candidates

Glenorchy City    |    Sorell

Map of Tasmania with Launceston City municipal area highlighted

Glenorchy City Council candidates

33,554 electors enrolled

Candidate names are listed below in alphabetical order, but they will be rotated on ballot papers.

Councillor – 11 candidates (1 to be elected)

BRANCH-ALLEN, JennyClaremont
CREW, MalaGlenorchy
DI FLORIO, MarilenaGlenorchy
GILLIE (SHAW), DeanneGranton
HAMASAKI, NinaWest Moonah
HAUBRICK, MattMoonah
McCARTHY, LachlanCollinsvale
MALONE, MorrisWest Moonah
MURRAY, GrahamClaremont
STRINGER, JustinMoonah

Mayor – 7 candidates

ALDERTON, ShaneAustins Ferry
CREW, MalaGlenorchy
HAUBRICK, MattMoonah
HICKEY, SueRosetta
McCARTHY, LachlanCollinsvale
STRINGER, JustinMoonah
YAXLEY, RussellWest Moonah

Candidate statements

Each elector receives a ballot pack containing a ballot paper and a booklet with instructions for voting and statements from the candidates. The online version of the booklet below contains web links to further information where provided by the candidates.

Candidate statements booklet preview
 Candidate statements booklet and elector poll information [PDF, 1.6MB]

As part of the TEC's Impartial Assisted Voting service, statements (and elector poll information) are also available in a text-only, accessible HTML format.

Related information

Local government areas

Map of Tasmania's local government (municipal) boundaries.

Map [PDF, 2.0MB]  
Who represents you?

A search tool to learn who currently represents you at each level of government.
(opens in new tab)

Learn more   

A record of past by-elections and recounts.

Learn more   
Media releases

Latest news from the TEC.

Learn more